You are here

Back to top

Featured Reads!

 

 

Check out some of our featured reads and reviews:

You Can't Spell Truth Without Ruth: An Unauthorized Collection of Witty & Wise Quotes from the Queen of Supreme, Ruth Bader Ginsburg Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250181985
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Castle Point Books - April 3rd, 2018

Speaking the Ruth to America

Ruth Bader Ginsburg became a Supreme Court Justice in 1993, but her popularity has exploded over the last couple of years as she has been adopted as a modern feminist icon. An octogenarian who has proven that disagreeing does not make one disagreeable, Ginsburg is well-known for her pithy observations as well as her strongly argued dissents. Beloved by many - including her ideological opposition, former Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, who was her dear friend - Ginsburg's wisdom has never been more relevant or more important to American democracy.

Sample quotes:

"Women belong in all places where decisions are being made...it shouldn't be that women are the exception."

"Fight for the things you care about, but do it in a way that will lead others to join you."

"People ask me sometimes...When will there be enough women on the Court? And I say, 'When there are nine.' People are shocked. But there'd been nine men, and nobody's ever raised a question about that."

"My mother told me two things constantly. One was to be a lady and the other was to be independent. For most girls growing up in the '40s, the most important degree was not your B.A. but your M.R.S."

"We have the oldest written constitution still in force in the world, and it starts out with three words, 'We, the people.'"


The Ninth Hour: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250192745
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - September 4th, 2018

One of the great writers of the Irish American experience, National Book Award winner McDermott offers the story of a young immigrant in early 1900s Brooklyn who has lost his job and is being hectored by his pregnant wife. So he asserts himself the only way he knows how: he turns on his tenement's gas taps. The suicide is never discussed, yet it has an enormous impact on the victim's family and friends for generations. BEA promotion.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.


A Well-Behaved Woman: A Novel of the Vanderbilts Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250095473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 16th, 2018

The riveting novel of iron-willed Alva Vanderbilt and her illustrious family as they rule Gilded-Age New York, from the New York Timesbestselling author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald.

Alva Smith, her southern family destitute after the Civil War, married into one of America's great Gilded Age dynasties: the newly wealthy but socially shunned Vanderbilts. Ignored by New York's old-money circles and determined to win respect, she designed and built nine mansions, hosted grand balls, and arranged for her daughter to marry a duke. But Alva also defied convention for women of her time, asserting power within her marriage and becoming a leader in the women's suffrage movement.

With a nod to Jane Austen and Edith Wharton, in A Well-Behaved Woman Therese Anne Fowler paints a glittering world of enormous wealth contrasted against desperate poverty, of social ambition and social scorn, of friendship and betrayal, and an unforgettable story of a remarkable woman. Meet Alva Smith Vanderbilt Belmont, living proof that history is made by those who know the rules--and how to break them.


Binti Cover Image
By Nnedi Okorafor, N. K. Jemisin (Introduction by)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250203427
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor.com - July 24th, 2018

Her name is Binti, and she is the first of the Himba people ever to be offered a place at Oomza University, the finest institution of higher learning in the galaxy. But to accept the offer will mean giving up her place in her family to travel between the stars among strangers who do not share her ways or respect her customs. Knowledge comes at a cost, one that Binti is willing to pay, but her journey will not be easy. The world she seeks to enter has long warred with the Meduse, an alien race that has become the stuff of nightmares. Oomza University has wronged the Meduse, and Binti's stellar travel will bring her within their deadly reach. If Binti hopes to survive the legacy of a war not of her making, she will need both the gifts of her people and the wisdom enshrined within the University, itself--but first she has to make it there, alive.


The Lost Queen of Crocker County Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492663799
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - July 10th, 2018

Vowing to leave Iowa behind, sassy Jane Willow left for Los Angeles and never looked back. Eighteen years later, she is a successful film critic who may have run away from her past, but not from her parents, who visit her often. She has even decided to buy them a townhouse in L.A. so that they can be closer to her. Her happiness and carefree life are shattered when her parents die tragically and Jane must go home. There, she confronts secrets from her past and mends an old friendship. Leiknes' latest (after 2017's Black-Eyed Susan) takes the reader on an emotional roller-coaster ride, near tears at one moment and laughing out loud the next. Jane is a wisecracking character who grows emotionally over the course of the novel. A fairly open ending leaves room for a possible sequel. Recommended for fans of Jojo Moyes and Carol Rifka Brunt.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2018, American Library Association.)

 


Virgil Wander Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802128782
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - October 2nd, 2018

In Enger's first novel in a decade, Virgil Wander emerges from a car crash that sent him into Lake Superior with his speech and memory impaired. Even as he tries to piece together an understanding of his life, he helps a charming stranger hunting for a vanished son.

Copyright 2018 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.


The Lost Words Cover Image
By Robert MacFarlane, Jackie Morris (Illustrator)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781487005382
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anansi International - October 2nd, 2018

An oversized album compiled in response to the recent omission by the Oxford Junior Dictionary of many natural-science words, including several common European bird, plant, and animal species, in favor of more current technological terms.In his introduction, Macfarlane laments this loss, announcing his intention to create "a spellbook for conjuring back these lost words." Each lost word is afforded three double-page spreads. First, the letters of each lost word are sprinkled randomly among other letters and an impressionistic sketch in a visual puzzle. This is followed by an acrostic poem or riddle describing essential qualities of the object, accompanied by a close-up view. A two-page spread depicting the object in context follows. Morris' strong, dynamic watercolors are a pleasure to look at, accurate in every detail, vibrant and full of life. The book is beautifully produced and executed, but anyone looking for definitions of the "lost words" will be disappointed. The acrostic poems are subjective, sophisticated impressions of the birds and animals depicted, redolent with alliteration and wordplay, perhaps more appropriate for creative writing prompts than for science exploration. This book is firmly rooted in the English countryside, celebrating such words as "conker," "bramble," and "starling" (invasive in North America), but many will cross over for North American readers. A free "Explorer's Guide" is available online.A sumptuous, nostalgic ode to a disappearing landscape. (Picture book/poetry. 10-adult) COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.