You are here

Back to top

Kids' Featured Reads

 

 

Check out the featured kids' books and reviews:

Swarm of Bees Cover Image
By Lemony Snicket, Rilla Alexander (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316392822
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 2nd, 2019

 

Publisher Marketing:

From the bestselling author of The Dark comes another brilliantly illustrated picture book that takes on an intense childhood emotion--this time, anger--in a rollicking, kid-friendly way. 
Whether you're a kid or a bee, sometimes you feel so mad, you buzz around looking for people to sting and trouble to make. See how one boy, a swarm of bees, and a whole town can get riled up and then find a way to feel better through the comfort of unconditional love and community.

 

Printed in a brilliant palette of primary colors, brimming with beautiful dots and stripes, Rilla Alexander's art sings. Not since David Shannon's No, David! have readers been given the pleasure of witnessing such uproariously terrible behavior, unbridled emotion, and ultimately, such comfort.


Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up Cover Image
By Dave Eggers, Laura Park (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316485869
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 14th, 2019

 
Publisher Marketing:

Abner and Ian are stuck sideways in this clever picture book created by a bestselling, acclaimed author and cartoonist--and perfect for fans of Elephant & Piggie and Press Here.

 

Abner and Ian are stuck sideways on the pages of their debut picture book. They can't start the story like this! Ian is trying to be brave, despite his dizziness and fear of heights. But don't worry, because Abner has a plan: Readers will shake and turn the book until they get right side up! Sounds easy, right? Think again, because the real solution may be the opposite of what you'd expect.

 

With the odd couple wit of Elephant & Piggie, the interactive appeal of Press Here, and a timeless charm all their own, Abner & Ian offer readers of all ages eighty pages of fast-paced fun with a surprising and rewarding twist. 


National Parks: A Kid's Guide to America's Parks, Monuments, and Landmarks, Revised and Updated Cover Image
By Erin McHugh, Neal Aspinall (Illustrator), Doug Leen (With), Brian Maebius (With)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780762494705
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Black Dog & Leventhal - April 2nd, 2019

 

Publisher Marketing:
Calling all Junior Rangers! This fun-filled guide explores the wonders and weirdness of more than 75 U.S. parks, monuments, and landmarks, from Acadia to Zion.

 

From Yellowstone to the Statue of Liberty, from Gettysburg National Battlefield to Mount Rushmore, National Parks is the only kid-friendly, family-oriented book that covers all of the 60 U.S. national parks, plus other famous monuments and landmarks. With a lively text and hundreds of color illustrations and photographs throughout, this updated edition offers fascinating, memorable information on every aspect of the parks, such as the history, geography, natural wonders, native wildlife and birds, and unique features that make each park special.

 

Organized alphabetically by state, National Parks takes readers on a whirlwind trip to 75 locations, including Denali National Park, Hot Springs National Park, Everglades National Park, Fort McHenry, White Mountain National Forest, Ellis Island, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Zion National Park, Block Island National Wildlife Refuge, Mt. Hood National Forest, and many more.
 


Stories for Kids Who Dare to Be Different: True Tales of Amazing People Who Stood Up and Stood Out Cover Image
By Ben Brooks, Quinton Wintor (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780762468553
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Running Press Kids - May 7th, 2019

Publisher Marketing:

Boys will be boys and girls will be girls? Not in this book. 
The follow-up to Ben Brooks's New York Times bestselling Stories for Boys Who Dare to Be Different, this book offers more extraordinary true stories of amazing people who broke the mold and changed the world for the better. The resulting message? Be yourself, and your dreams might come true.

 

With the help of Quinton Winter's striking full-color illustrations, Brooks offers an accessible compilation of 76 famous and not-so-famous influencers from the past to the present day, every single one of them a rule-breaker and stereotype-smasher in his or her own way. Entries include Emma Gonzalez, Andy Warhol, Bjork, Hans Christian Andersen, Sally Ride, and so many more -- heroes from all walks of life and from all over the world. 


The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781616207465
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - April 30th, 2019

 

Publisher Marketing:

Winner of the 2017 Newbery Award
The New York Times Bestseller

An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
School Library Journal Best Book of 2016
Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best Books of 2016
2017 Booklist Youth Editors' Choice
 

Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey. 

One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna's thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge--with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth's surface. And the woman with the Tiger's heart is on the prowl . . .


Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781419740275
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - April 9th, 2019

Publisher Marketing:

Get ready for a whole new look into Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid! Introducing the newest Wimpy Kid author--Rowley Jefferson! Rowley's best friend Greg Heffley has been chronicling his middle-school years in thirteen Diary of a Wimpy Kid journals . . . and counting. But it's finally time for readers to hear directly from Rowley in a journal of his own. In Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid, Rowley writes about his experiences and agrees to play the role of biographer for Greg along the way. (After all, one day Greg will be rich and famous, and everyone will want to know his life's story.) But Rowley is a poor choice for the job, and his "biography" of Greg is a hilarious mess. Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal offers readers a new way to look at the Wimpy world--one fans won't want to miss! 


You Are Light Cover Image
By Aaron Becker, Aaron Becker (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781536201154
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Studio - March 26th, 2019

Publisher Marketing:

With a wondrously simple die-cut book, the Caldecott Honor-winning creator of the Journey trilogy brings his talents further into the light.

 

This is the light that brings the day.

 

Open this beautiful book to find a graphic yellow sun surrounded by a halo of bright die-cut circles. Now hold the page up to the light and enjoy the transformation as the colors in those circles glow. In an elegant, sparely narrated ode to the phenomenon of light, Aaron Becker follows as light reflects off the earth to warm our faces, draws up the sea to make the rain, feeds all the things that grow, and helps to create all the brilliant wonders of the world, including ourselves.


A Piglet Named Mercy Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Chris Van Dusen (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780763677534
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 2nd, 2019

Publisher Marketing:

Every porcine wonder was once a piglet! Celebrate the joy of a new arrival with this endearing picture-book prequel to the New York Times best-selling Mercy Watson series.

 

Mr. Watson and Mrs. Watson live ordinary lives. Sometimes their lives feel a bit too ordinary. Sometimes they wish something different would happen. And one day it does, when someone unpredictable finds her way to their front door. In a delightful origin story for the star of the Mercy Watson series, a tiny piglet brings love (and chaos) to Deckawoo Drive -- and the Watsons' lives will never be the same.


Because Cover Image
By Mo Willems, Amber Ren (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368019019
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - March 5th, 2019

Publisher Marketing:

Mo Willems, a number one New York Times best-selling author and illustrator, composes a powerful symphony of chance, discovery, persistence, and magic in this moving tale of a young girl's journey to center stage. Illustrator Amber Ren brings Willems' music to life, conducting a stunning picture-book debut.


The Book Hog Cover Image
By Greg Pizzoli, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368036894
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - March 26th, 2019

 

Publisher Marketing:

The Book Hog loves books-the way they look, the way they feel, the way they smell-and he'll grab whatever he can find. There's only one problem: he can't read! But when a kind librarian invites him to join for storytime, this literature-loving pig discovers the treasure that books really are. 
Geisel Medalist Greg Pizzoli presents a new character who is sure to steal your heart in this picturebook full of humorous charm and vivid illustrations.